P: 1 807 623 9543
F: 1 807 623 5190

Alternately you may contact us toll free at 1 866 892 8687


90 Anemki Dr Suite 200
Fort William First Nation, ON
P7J 1L3

The Robinson Treaty for the Lake Superior region, commonly called Robinson Superior Treaty, was entered into agreement on September 7, 1850, at Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario between Ojibwa Chiefs inhabiting the Northern Shore of Lake Superior from Pigeon River to Batchawana Bay, and The Crown, represented by a delegation headed by William Benjamin Robinson. It is registered as the Crown Treaty Number 60.  Fort William First Nation is one of the signatories to the treaty.

10 Principles on Treaty Implementation

1. We, the First Nation, come from Mother Earth, and this determines our relationship with nature, our role as stewards of this land and all forms of life and our sovereignty.
2. We, the First Nation, occupied North America as sovereign Nations long before other people came to our shores.
3. We, the First Nation, have always made our own laws, institutions and jurisdiction which reflects our culture, values and languages.
4. Our sovereignty enabled us to enter into Treaty and other political accords with other Nations.
5. The Royal Proclamation of 1763 affirmed our sovereignty, institutionalized the Treaty-making process, and made our consent a condition before our lands and resources could be alienated.
6.  First Nations and Crown affirmed each others’ sovereignty in the treaty process.
7.  Our sovereignty defines our nationhood and this will continue forever.
8.  Our Treaty has International stature.
9.  The spirit and intent of the treaty relationship is more valid than the written text and will last as long as the sun shines, the rivers flow and the grass grows.
10.  Canada has an on-going obligation to fulfill the Treaty according to the Spirit and Intent.

Robinson 1850 Treaty (Literature)

Nokiiwin Treaty Presentation (Kim Fullerton)

Nokiiwin Treaty Presentation (Christine Dernoi)

Traditional Territory and The Duty to Consult